Wednesday, November 18, 2009



“Huntsville is so fuckin international, shoulda been Alabama’s capital, that’s trill talk”
- ST 2 Lettaz from ‘Rising Sun’

This is it.

Huntsville International has landed.

If you don’t know by now from the countless classics we’ve published here at Southern Hospitality: Huntsville, Alabama’s Slow Motion Soundz camp is producing, has produced and we’d bet our collective houses will continue to produce, some of the most exciting, heartfelt and, most crucially, musical music of any city, state, country and genre of music. Categorising what these artists do as rap music or hip-hop simply will not stand. This is music, pure and simple. This is some of our all-time favourite music.

What separates G-Side members ST 2 Lettaz and Yung Clova from any other rap duo doing it in recent history, is their outwardly humble aura, understated and yet emotionally articulated rhymes, which are a living, breathing commitment to staying true to their reality. That reality being life in Huntsville. A city that, as a direct result of Slow Motion Soundz’ guiding light, Codie G, will now rise up. The result? The space rocket in their back yard should offer a clue.

The Block Beattaz production (not forgetting Mick Vegas and PT’s sterling work on here also) maintains an otherworldly, space age feel to express through the music what heights the SMS family hope to reach, while all the while ST and Clova’s words keep everything grounded. Grounded in the history of their forefathers in the infamously oppressed and segregated state of Alabama, in their position at the forefront of a city and state that has yet to break into the scene-centred rap universe’s consciousness, and in their own powerful sense of self.

The music peaks when aspirational emotions run high (”It’s kinda hard coming out of Alabama/You don’t realise you slow till you outta Alabama“), but every moment is so intricately produced and Crimson Tide stadium pitch earthy, and yet still not of this world, that the listener can truly feel like they’re experiencing something unique and special – not unlike the first time you heard Big Boi and Dre trade futuristic mystics or Bun B and Pimp C inject their souls into the south’s collective hearts and minds.

‘Huntsville International’, available free copy and paste link below, has been many months in the making, has hit some turbulence, but is all the better for it. And let it be known that this is the beginning of ST and Clova’s future as global artists, setting trends in hip-hop and beyond, and doing shows internationally. Next stop London and Amsterdam!!!

Now we proudly present to you the album, and it is an album, we’ve been anticipating for what feels like a lifetime. Feel this…

Slow Motion Soundz & DJ Burn One Present:
‘Huntsville International’
(Slow Motion Soundz)

01. ‘Intro’ – Rob Breezy
02. ‘Huntsville International’ ft. Sound of Silence (produced by Block Beattaz)
03. ‘So Gone’ (produced by L-Don)
04. ‘What It’s All About’ (produced by Johnny Juliano)
05. ‘Bandz’ ft. DJ Cunta (produced by Bossman)
06. ‘Paradise’ (produced by Mick Vegas)
07. ‘Matthew Africa Speaks’
08. ‘Aura’ ft. P.T. (produced by Mick Vegas)
09. ‘College Chicks’ (produced by Block Beattaz)
10. ‘This Groove’ ft. P.H. (produced by Block Beattaz)
11. ‘Feel The’ ft. 6 Tre Gangsta & AC (produced by Block Beattaz)
12. ‘Who’s Hood?’ ft. Yelawolf (produced by Block Beattaz)
13. ‘This is Life’ (produced by P.T.)
14. ‘In the Rain’ ft. Bentley (produced by Block Beattaz)
15. ‘Rising Sun’ ft. Kristmas (produced by Block Beattaz)
16. ‘So Wonderful’ ft. Chrystal Carr, G-Mane & SupaKing (produced by Block Beattaz)

No comments:

Post a Comment